The Chateau

Hardcover

English language

Published May 23, 2023 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books.

ISBN:
978-1-6680-1301-4
Copied ISBN!

View on OpenLibrary

1 star (2 reviews)

A dream girls trip to a luxurious French chateau devolves into a deadly nightmare of secrets and murder in this stylish, twisty thriller for fans of Lucy Foley, Ruth Ware, and Lisa Jewell.

Welcome to picturesque Provence, where the Lady of the Chateau, Séraphine Demargelasse, has opened its elegant doors to her granddaughter Darcy and three friends. Twenty years earlier, the four girlfriends studied abroad together in France and visited the old woman on the weekends, creating the group’s deep bond. But why this sudden invitation?

Amid winery tours, market visits, and fancy dinners overlooking olive groves and lavender fields, it becomes clear that each woman has a hidden reason for accepting the invitation. Then, after a wild evening’s celebration, Séraphine is found brutally murdered.

As the women search for answers to this shocking crime, fingers begin pointing and a sinister Instagram account pops up, exposing snapshots from the friends’ …

5 editions

Secrets and murder turn a dream trip to a luxurious French chateau into a deadly nightmare.

1 star

Secrets and murder turn a dream trip to a luxurious French chateau into a deadly nightmare.

The Lady of the Chateau, Séraphine Demargelasse, has welcomed her granddaughter Darcy and three friends to Provence’s picturesque countryside. What is the reason for this sudden invitation? As the women search for answers, an Instagram account pops up, exposing snapshots from their intimate moments at the chateau, while threatening to reveal more.During their race to uncover who murdered Séraphine and is stalking them, they discover the chateau holds many secrets... some worth killing for.

Let me start by saying that this very intrigued me. I enjoy stories about friends or families traveling together, staying in remote locations on vacation. Learning about the unique characters and their lives fascinates me.

To begin with, I found it to be one of the most boring and least thrilling thrillers I’ve ever read. Every character irritated me, and …

avatar for readrampage

rated it

1 star

Subjects

  • Thriller
  • Mystery
  • Fiction
  • Suspense
  • Horror
  • Contemporary